2016 Teaching Awards

2016 McGill Music Graduate Symposium Keynote Speaker & Performer Announced

This year we are honored to welcome Dr. Benjamin Piekut from Cornell University as our keynote speaker and renowned bassoonist Nadina Mackie Jackson as our keynote performer.  Click here to learn more.

Fall 2015 General Assembly & End of Term Party

As the Fall semester approaches its conclusion, we’d like to invite you to join us for our final general assembly of the current term and end-of-term party. This event is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate and to reflect upon our accomplishments over the last term with free food, wine, music, and good company. The general assembly will be held on Friday, December 4th at 5:15 p.m. in A-832. The party will follow the conclusion of the assembly. An agenda and supporting documents will be sent via e-mail on November 27th.

We are calling for nominations for the following vacant area representative positions: Music Technology, Percussion, Piano, Voice, Jazz, Early Music, and Conducting. Elections will be held at the GA. Those who wish to run for said positions must attend the GA OR email mgss.pgss@mail.mcgill.ca to let us know of their intent to run if they cannot attend. As an area representative, you are in an excellent position to foster community at the Schulich School of Music and to positively shape the experience of its graduate students. It is also an excellent opportunity to develop leadership skills working with a variety of other groups on campus. You may nominate yourself or a colleague. More information about each position may be found in the MGSS Constitution.

We look forward to seeing you on December 4th. Until then, best of luck with your end-of-term exams, performances, papers, and projects!

MGSS Executive Committee Election Results

If you weren’t able to make it out to our Winter GA, please find the results of our election and that meeting below. Congratulations to each member of the 2015-2016 Executive Committee and thanks to all MGSS members who voted in the election. See you next year!

President: Leslie Perrin
Vice-Preisdent: Lydia Huang
Secretary: Erin Sheedy
Treasurer: Michèle Duguay
Member-at-Large: Kristin Franseen
Performance Representative: Alaina Pawlowicz
Research Representative: Laura Risk
Symposium Chair: Farley Miller
PGSS Representatives: Claire McLeish, Sophie Kabbash, and Tessa MacLean